“She has a heart for people and does her job with excellence.”- Jennifer M
“Every person who comes to this law firm will be treated with respect.”- Naomi G.
“Great lawyers and great people!”- Jake W.
Decatur Protection Order Defense LawyersDefending Against Violations of Protection Orders in Morgan County, AL
Have you been accused of domestic violence in a protection from abuse petition in Morgan County or elsewhere in North Alabama? These petitions and resulting orders, also known as restraining orders or PFS, are issued by the court to protect alleged victims from domestic violence crimes. If you have been named as the offender in such an order, you must content the finding of an act of domestic violence and prevent a final order from being entered against you. Violating a protection order is a criminal offense.
If you have been accused of domestic violence in a criminal case or a petition for a protection order, you should seek help from White, Oakes, & Iverson, LLC. Our Decatur protection order defense attorneys can review the situation and take steps to defend you in court against such a charge. If appropriate, we may be able to convince the judge of the extreme or unfair terms of such a protection order to have the case against you dismissed. You should always rely on trusted legal counsel in such an emotional and stressful situation.
Violations of Protection Orders under Alabama Law
Protection orders are issued by the court to protect victims of domestic violence offenses and generally prohibit the alleged offender from making any kind of contact with the victim. However, any protection order can have a variety of terms and conditions that must be followed. If the police have probable cause to believe that any condition of such an order has been violated, even if they have not witnessed the violation, they can arrest you and you can be charged with the violation.
Protection order violations carry the following penalties:
- A first offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $6,000
- A second offense carries an automatic jail sentence of 48 continuous hours as well as any other Class A penalties handed down by the court
- A third or subsequent offense carries a minimum 30-day jail sentence along with other Class A misdemeanor penalties
Get Aggressive Legal Help Today
At White, Oakes, & Iverson, LLC, we have been defending individuals of criminal offenses in the community since 1998. Our seasoned legal team has handled countless charges involving protection orders in which we have effectively defended our clients. We can review all the facts and create a thorough defense designed to seek the best possible solution to your case.
Contact Our FirmSpeak to our experienced legal team.
Qualities that Define Our Firm
Excellent Client Reviews
Founded Over 20 Years Ago
Competent & Comprehensive Legal Support